Solstice Sacred Release Ceremony

Last night, on our Winter Solstice, I had the privilege of conducting a sacred ceremony for my clients. A huge thank you to the 80 clients who participated, and to those who had nothing to release this year, but wanted to just wish me happy holidays! Here are details:

The Winter Solstice is the darkest day of the year, and moves us into a space where we begin to receive more light into our lives. In honor of this, I burned a sacred fire and asked my clients to tell me what they would like to release from this year, so they can move into the New Year with a clean slate to make manifestation much easier. By simply thinking of what we want to release (fear, doubt, anger, sadness) the process begins. However, by writing the released item and burning it, the energy is stronger and the intention is more powerful.

I wrote down each person’s intention and folded the slips of paper. Next, I surrounded these intentions with herbs to start the release process. After lighting the fire, I added everyone’s intentions to the flames with the herbs.

After spreading the intentions into the fire, I noticed that some of the papers burned more slowly than others, no matter where they were located in the fire. I believe these indicated the intentions that are harder to release, perhaps they were old behaviors or patterns, or maybe there was much emotion, heartbreak, or resistance to letting go of the habit. It was interesting to see the differences in the papers burning. I also noticed the locations where each intention fell, it was like magic, the way they spread through the firepit, some high and away from the heat, others lower, as if they were so ready to be released, they jumped into the flames.

However, in the end, all papers were burned with the herbs, and the intentions were released. The fire continued until it burned itself out.

I wish for us all to start our New Year with a clean slate – to let go of whatever obstacles block us from our happiness. If you didn’t participate (or even if you did!), I encourage you to create your own end-of-year ceremony. Think of what you want to release from this past year (or even things that have been with you many years!), and write it down on a slip of paper – it can include old beliefs, ties to old relationships, negative views of our self-image, anything that is not in alignment with our peace and happiness. Burn the paper and imagine your intention rising with the smoke, leaving your life. Say a prayer of gratitude that you are now free.

~Angela Boswell 2021. http://www.AngelaBoswell.com

Leave a comment