Tracking Time

As humans, it’s in our nature to track time. When we are younger, it seems like we have so much of it and impatience gets the best of us. As we age, we begin to feel it slipping away, faster and faster as the years go by. We usually track it by important events. When someone asks us, what year was that? We think back to an event that happened around that time and then estimate the year. We say, “When was that? Let me see, I believe that was about the time when I was working at that awful job, so it must have been around when I was 20 years old, so the year would have been….”.

I see this when I do readings for people. When I get the feeling that there was a recent impactful change in someone’s life, I look at their life like a timeline. Remember those number timelines we used in elementary school? On one end would be a dot and on the other an arrow, and there would be numbers and notches along the way. I look at someone’s life timeline and instead of numbers, I see major events, then I count back how many years ago it happened. We all have these timelines that mark major events in our lives and change us. But why do we usually mark the time by only the heartbreaking or distasteful events of our lives, or by our experiences with other people?  Think about it. How do you track your time? By when you got married or divorced? “Oh, let’s see, that was a year before our divorce, so it much have been 2002.” Or when someone was born or died? “I think that was the year when Jenny was born, so it must have been 1998.” Or, “It was before Jim was in that accident, so it must have been 2012.” Or, “It was after Susan was married, so it had to be after 2015.”

Instead, what if we tracked time by different events? Things that are personal to us and we enjoy?  For instance, “It was during the time when I started letting go of my past, must have been around 2010.” Or, “I believe it’s when I started saving money again, let’s see, maybe 1994?” Or, “Oh I remember, it’s when I opened my heart and began to love again, that was 2013.” Or, “That was the year I started getting very healthy, must have been 1991.” See the difference in the emphasis we place on our own growth and empowerment, and tracking time?  Start thinking about your life right now. How would you label this timeframe? When you look back at events around this time, what will you remember? Ask yourself the following questions regarding your time tracking:

  1. In what year did you start becoming curious about your spirituality?
  2. When did you start caring more about what you thought than what others thought?
  3. How old were you when you became comfortable in your own skin?
  4. What year was it when you stepped in your power?
  5. At what point in time did you decide to enjoy your life and not worry any more?

Do the Work! 
How do you track time? Maybe you just need a little practice identifying the unseen events that are important in your life.

Ask Yourself:

  1. In what year did you start becoming curious about your spirituality?
  2. When did you start caring more about what you thought than what others thought?
  3. How old were you when you became comfortable in your own skin?
  4. What year was it when you stepped into your power?
  5. At what point in time did you decide to enjoy your life and not worry any more?

Start focusing on these timelines and use them for reference when someone asks you about an event!

— Angela Boswell. www.AngelaBoswell.com

Copyright 2022. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a comment